PDA

View Full Version : GPS cordinates

theurbansuburban
11-02-2004, 16:13
I'm doing a weekend back packing trip this weekend, but all my maps are at home (i'm a college student), and I won't be able to see them until the day before the hike, and i'm interested in doing some geocaching (http://www.geocaching.com/) around the campsite once I get there. I was wonding if anyone had a map hand and could give me the approximate GPS cordanite of the Blue Mountian Camp site (PA) so could look of any local geocaches (and if you know of any good ones in the area).

Thanks for any help

TheUrbanSuburban

p.s. If you have anything that I should know about the blue mountain campsite I could use some of that info too, since my trail books are at home too.

tlbj6142
11-02-2004, 16:46
I think all of the shelter/campsite locations are buried somewhere on the ATC site.

Ridge
11-02-2004, 19:51
N40d 22.006m W76d 47.981m

5.14 miles SSE of AT (nearest point)

Peters Mtn Shelter is probably the closet (0.7 miles north of victoria furnace,pa)

DeskJockey
11-02-2004, 19:57
Here is a link to the page where you can download all the shelter coordinates. I've verified two of them, and they where right on.

http://www.appalachiantrail.org/protect/gis/GPSdata.html

By Blue Mountian I am guessing you mean the Cove Mountain area that is to the North of Boiling Spring and to the South of Duncannon. I just happened to have completed this hike not too long ago. On Cove Mountain (The north Mountain) there are two very good geocaches; GCHDFK and GCHF0J. The latter being a night cache that it is possible to "cheat" on and find during daylight. On the south mountain (Blue Mountain) there are a few caches. There are two caches that are near the AT; GC9C56 and GC9C5B. There are a few other caches located on this mountain if you take the orange blazed Darrlington trail.