PDA

View Full Version : Safety In Lightning

art gypsy
06-15-2010, 11:03
I recent got a hennessy hyperlite hammock and greatly prefer it to sleeping in the shelters. It takes up much less space in my pack and weighs less, but I am wondering about safety during thunderstorms. It occurred to me that being tied to a couple of trees may not be the safest option in a thunderstorm. Any thoughts on this?

Art Gypsy

Panzer1
06-15-2010, 11:35
I never thought about that. I guess that could happen.

Panzer

Graywolf
06-15-2010, 11:48
I recent got a hennessy hyperlite hammock and greatly prefer it to sleeping in the shelters. It takes up much less space in my pack and weighs less, but I am wondering about safety during thunderstorms. It occurred to me that being tied to a couple of trees may not be the safest option in a thunderstorm. Any thoughts on this?

Art Gypsy

Hmmmm now thats a thought..:-?..

sherrill
06-15-2010, 11:56
I'm not an expert but wouldn't you be more at risk on the ground, underneath the tree? Electric current lives to find ground.

Pedaling Fool
06-15-2010, 12:14
This ought to be another interesting thread -- a war between two competing interests, in this case Tenters vs. Hammockers.

I don’t know the answer, but I imagine that the difference in danger is probably negligible, in other words about the same.

However, the point of lightening wanting to find ground is true, generally speaking, but notice that lightening mostly hits the highest object.

Electricity, basically, is only atoms trying to balance out, either gain or lose electrons if the potential difference between two objects is high enough there’s no such thing as an insulator.

BTW, I'm a tenter and I think all hammockers are tree killers....:D

;)

Dobie Swift
06-15-2010, 12:16
Holmdel-area man dies after being struck by lightning

Officials: He fell asleep in hammock during storm

Posted by the Asbury Park Press on 06/25/06
BY CHAD WEIHRAUCH
GANNETT NEW JERSEY