PDA

View Full Version : 2.5 week food suggestions

jmorgan
06-23-2010, 17:02
I am new to the AT and plan on being a section hikers as of now. I have 2.5 weeks available in the beginning of Sept. and am planning to start In georgia and hike 25-30 miles a day. I already have lightweight gear and plan on trying to keep my pack as light as weight as possible so it doesnt slow me down. My question is what are light weight food options to take on the trip. I need to hike a 2.5 week supply but dont want a bunch of food slowing me down. I found a freeze dried 70-portion kit at REI but is mostly vegies and other things. So any suggestions on what i can take?

Ender
06-23-2010, 17:12
First, unless you're in remarkable shape, starting out in GA at 25-30 miles a day will be a struggle. Not saying it can't be done, but yikes. The AT in GA/NC/TN is pretty rough, and averaging that mileage over the terrain right out of the gate is something you would need to prepare for far ahead of time in terms of physical conditioning.

As far as food, Kraft mac n' cheese with olive oil has a goodly amount of calories for the weight. I can't really stand the stuff any more after years of eating it out on the trail, but it does work. Lipton dinners are decent.

Ender
06-23-2010, 17:19
One of my current favorite dishes is pesto. A Knorr pesto package, olive oil to mix, and linguini noodles... yum.

Also, flour tortillas with peanut butter and honey are high energy. Though not lightweight.

And as far as carrying 2.5 weeks of food all at once... don't. Just go into town once every 5-6 days and resupply. Will make your hiking lighter and faster and more enjoyable.

max patch
06-23-2010, 17:32
I need to hike a 2.5 week supply but dont want a bunch of food slowing me down.

You don't need to carry 2.5 weeks of food; plenty of resupply options. Read the Companion or one of the other thru hiker handbooks and Baltimore Jacks resupply article.

bigcranky
06-23-2010, 18:00