PDA

View Full Version : Dehydrating fruit this summer for a 2011 hike?

NoBo2011
06-23-2010, 18:29
I'm planning a 2011 hike and one of my concerns is not having enough fruit and veggies. Since it's summer and fruit is available and cheaper, would it be possible to buy fruit and dehydrate it now for a 2011 hike or would it go bad?

I'm new to this dehydrating thing, so I appreciate any help!

And the reason I don't use store-bought dried fruit is because it either has a ton of sugar in it or sulfides as preservatives, and I don't like the taste of either of those.

Egads
06-23-2010, 18:55
it should keep after dehydrating if you store the fruit in a freezer

Mother Natures Son
06-23-2010, 19:28
If something is dried right and keeped in a dry box box (and nothing can get at it), the food shoud keep for years! Right now, I'm trying out new meals that I can dry for the trail. Here is a short list of this that worked in the past; Meatloaf, stews, Baby Back Ribs (no joke) and of course, vegs,/fruit. Lots of great cook books out there you can try.

Appalachian Tater
06-23-2010, 21:23
Before deciding to dehydrate your own fruit, check to see how much it costs to buy it already dried vs. buying fresh fruit and drying it yourself. In many cases you will find it is cheaper to buy dried fruit than to do it yourself.

For an easy example, think about grapes and raisins--they cost about the same amount per pound, or reasonably close. Even if raisins cost twice as much a pound as grapes, they would still be cheaper than drying your own.

Now, if you have a source of free fruit, that's a different story.

Tagless
06-23-2010, 21:55
The previous posts offer sound considerations.