PDA

View Full Version : Weather in the Whites

KVKV
07-03-2010, 19:59
Hi,I am currently thru hiking northbound and I'll be at Bear Mountain on this Monday to continue my hike, to finish on Katahdin around 20 August. I have a 32 degree WM sleeping bag and thermal top and bottom and a thermal hat as my current sleeping system (although I don't use the thermal bottom nor hat). I wanted to check whether I should change the sleeping bag for a 20 degree one. I started in Georgia with a 20 degree one but started in May so didn't really need it. I seem to see from this forum that the temperatures in the Whites can really get quite low and I do get cold when I sleep. So could you please let me know whether I should switch out the bag and I assume Hanover is the place to do it (from my research). Thanks a lotKVKV

Sierra Echo
07-03-2010, 20:02
When you got online and checked out the forecast, what did the forecast predict??

Feral Bill
07-03-2010, 20:15
Get the warmer bag. You may not need it, but if you do you may need it badly.

BigFoot2002
07-03-2010, 20:20
I'd suggest you swap out the bag, and mail anything else you need, to Glencliff NH. The post office is right across from a very nice hostel.

KVKV
07-03-2010, 21:15
Sierra Echo: Looking at the forecast, the average lows would be in the 40s which would theoretically make my summer bag ok as it is a 32. However I have my doubts and as I've never hiked in the US before, I thought I'd ask the experts!Thanks Bill and Bigfoot. That was my feeling. Would be great to keep the lighter bag but I suppose I should not risk it especially given that I get cold at night.

10-K
07-03-2010, 21:30
I just hiked through the Whites with a 55* Mont Bell down bag and a liner. I slept in the huts every night from Glencliff to Gorham but there were other times when I tented that it got into the 40's at night in other places and I slept with my (Mont Bell Thermowrap) jacket and toboggan on and was plenty warm.

kayak karl
07-03-2010, 21:59