PDA

View Full Version : 3 month thru hike-possible?

bradm
07-07-2010, 19:53
I am young, healthy, and in really good shape. Is it possible to thru hike the AT in three months? Any feedback is appreciated.

10-K
07-07-2010, 19:55
Do the math..... Roughly 24.25 miles a day with no zeros.

The Old Fhart
07-07-2010, 20:04
It is also possible to thru hike the trail in 2 months but you have to ask yourself why you would want to do it. Most of the hikers who I've met that have done the trail in approximately 100 days have said they wished they had taken more time and enjoyed themselves more. If 3 months is all the time you can afford to allot for the A.T., then go for it. After you've been on the trail for a while you may find that you want to slow down, or you might find you enjoy hiking the A.T. faster than most.

bradm
07-07-2010, 20:06
I wish I could take more time. Unfortunately, I am a college student and we have roughly three months of summer vacation. That is all the time I have to complete it

YoungMoose
07-07-2010, 20:13
why dont you wait to complete college. thats my plan im going to finish highschool. go to college, finish it. then i will thruhike. After i thruhike i will then get a job.

Mags
07-07-2010, 20:31
Most people who do that kind of mileage are experienced thru-hikers with lightpacks and in good physical shape.

Not to bust beans, but if you have to ask the question, it is probably not a pace you'd be comfortable with.

Hiking all day can be awesome. It is the mileage I average on my longer hikes since 2004 and I've enjoyed them thoroughly...but I also knew what I was getting into. :)

If I were you, get a practice hike in and see if you can do that pace and enjoy it. The Benton MacKaye Trail and Vermont's Long Trail are both roughly the same length and difficulty. If you can do one of those trails in two weeks and still have an enjoyable experience, then you may enjoy the AT at this pace.

Good luck!

fiddlehead
07-07-2010, 20:40