PDA

View Full Version : Worried about Snow on JMT

Ryan S
07-08-2010, 12:41
Hi all,

I know it has been a record year for snow this year and am a little concerned about it. I am headed out to do the JMT on July 24 starting at Bishop Pass and ending at horsemeadow on August 2. I am doing this solo.

Does anyone have any idea what the snow will be like then. This is my first time doing the JMT. I am a moderately experienced backpacker but have not done any camping in the snow. Will I need an axe, a gps? Will I be ok doing on my own? Any suggestions and info would be much appreciated.

Thank you

sbhikes
07-08-2010, 17:01
You won't be camping in snow. You will probably have to walk on it. A GPS will help you keep track of the trail under the snow, but it's not a requirement. You can use a map, too. With snow, you just have to aim for the pass. You don't have to follow the trail exactly.

An ice axe might be handy for some of the passes. I will risk sounding like the idiot that I am and say that if you have the discipline to wait for the snow to soften, you don't need any ice axe. Maybe some crampons.

I imagine that by July 24 the snow ought to be similar to what I experienced in June 2008. I hiked alone then, no snow experience, no gps, no ice axe and instep crampons. When the trail was obscured, there were often piles of rocks to follow, although they sometimes went the wrong way a little bit.

I probably should have had an ice axe for Mather Pass because I did slip. I hiked too early. I should have waited for the snow to get soft.

couscous
07-08-2010, 18:53