PDA

View Full Version : What we like about White Blaze

Lugnut
07-12-2010, 14:33
There's a thread about what's wrong about White Blaze and it's about time for the other side to have a say. I've been here since almost day one so I must still be happy. Met some who turned out to be good friends and/or hiking partners.

bigcranky
07-12-2010, 14:37
I love the smell of esbit in the morning!

Smells like......coffee.

Yeah, I kinda like this place too. Met some great people over the years.

bigmac_in
07-12-2010, 14:38
Excellent thread Lugnut ! !

WB was my main source of info when I first got into backpacking several years ago. It saved me from a long learning curve, although I'm STILL learning. I'm sure it is still a good tool for the newbies out there.

I too have made a large number of friends that I would not have made had I not been on WB.

Mountain Wildman
07-12-2010, 14:43
There is so much good it's tough to know where to start, I guess the one thing that stands out to me is, When I was trying to figure out why this hiking/backpacking thing had such a hold on me, It was comforting to know that I wasn't the only one who felt that way.
And many things can be learned from books, but hiking encompasses so many different skills that you have to get out there and do it, With Whiteblaze, Us newbies can get opinions from people with more miles under their belts and maybe avoid a mistake or two. It would be hard to put a value on the info available here. My thanks go out to everyone here that is generous enough to share hard earned, extremely valuable experience and expertise.:)

b.c.
07-12-2010, 14:48
The information is fantastic. There are often different opinions and experiences on the same subject. It is fun for me to take them all in - and then draw my own conclusion - and then try it out. I have lurked here for about five of my thirty years of backpacking but my knowledge has probably doubled due to the vicarious experiences of the membership.

Gray Blazer