PDA

View Full Version : Giving Up on the Thru Hike

abbyflutterby
07-21-2010, 11:08
Alright - curious noob here, planning on hiking next year.
I'm interested in responses to the following.
Thru-hikers - describe a situation where you contemplating giving up on the hike, and going "back"...
or those that didn't finish but originally planned to - what made you quit?

(Even if you quit, props to getting out there in the first place. ;))

Lone Wolf
07-21-2010, 11:10
boredom and monotony

Bags4266
07-21-2010, 11:19
I was only out for a month (section hiker), and I have to agree with the Wolf on monotony, everyday is like the movie "Ground Hog Day" wake up, eat, pack, hike, sleep day in and day out. Also I started feeling guilty about my responsiblities at home. (wife cutting the lawn running errands that I should be doing) Starts to play on your head a little. I think 2-3 week clips are perfect for me. But of course its just an opinion.

abbyflutterby
07-21-2010, 11:23
I'm a bit worried about the monotony kicking in. I'm doing the hike to get away from cars and buildings and the like and be alone with my thoughts (for the most part). I really believe my brain could use the time (and my body could use the nature) but that doesn't mean you folk didn't think that, too...

Nean
07-21-2010, 11:26
boredom and monotony

I've never understood this.:confused:
My worst day on the trail is better than a good day in the rat race. ;)
Civilization is the same old same old.:(

My reasons for getting off before the trail ends are weather (snow) and girls.:eek:

I think most people quit because they can't handle getting into trail shape (too hard), start to fast and burn themselves out (no fun) or run out of money.:-?

Manwich
07-21-2010, 11:33
When I'm not enjoying myself.

abbyflutterby
07-21-2010, 11:34
I've never understood this.:confused:
My worst day on the trail is better than a good day in the rat race. ;)
Civilization is the same old same old.:(