PDA

View Full Version : Winter Shelter Options

Danielsen
07-23-2010, 12:31
I'm interested in doing some winter backpacking on the nearby Finger Lakes Trail, and while I'm used to hiking in this area during the winter, I have no experience camping in the winter. So my question is: what shelter types work well in the winter?

Are tarps feasible?

Are "3-season" tents suitable for non-alpine winter conditions?

I know some love winter hammocking but I don't want to deal with buying overquilts and etc. and while I own and sometimes use a Hennessy, it's generally not my thing.

Would it be better to just stick with my Outdoor Research Bivy? They are made for alpine conditions, of course, and probably are better in winter than other seasons, but the comfort factor is a bit lacking.

I've been looking at ultralight tarptent-type shelters as well. Anyone use these in the winter?

The region I'll be in often sees overall snow cover as deep as a few feet with high drifts here and there, with calm, long-lasting but heavy snowfall being a common form of precipitation. And then sometimes it all melts and the sky turns sleety..

If you've got experience backpacking/camping in the winter with any of these shelter types, I'd love to hear your input.

couscous
07-23-2010, 13:00
Lots of variables, but tarps and 3-season tents are feasible. For me it's much simpler and warmer to sleep on the ground in winter, so I leave the hammocks at home and grab one of my tarp tents. Key point with either system is adequate insulation underneath.
I hear igloos and snow caves are a great option if you have the time to build them.

http://www.twchikers.com/the-one.jpg

Danielsen
07-23-2010, 13:33
Alright, so I should probably carry a bigger/thicker pad? I'm used to just using a trimmed-down closed-cell foam pad.

How well do you think that shelter type would hold up under say a 6-inch overnight snowfall?

Tom Murphy
07-23-2010, 13:37