PDA

View Full Version : Help with Gear Inventory

Sunshine Tami Jo
07-26-2010, 17:59
Hi, Ladies!

I posted this question to the general thru-hikers forum, too, but I thought that you ladies might give me your input regarding my gear inventory. Currently all of this stuff weights about 35 pounds, and if I can reduce that I'd sure like to, as I still have to carry food and water. I've never done an extended hike before, and I want to maintain a certain level of comfort and hygiene while still being as comfortable as possible on the trail. I would be extremely grateful to anyone who might look over my list and tell me if I've forgotten something crucial or of there is anything on here that I can eliminate.

Thanks for your help! Here's my list:

Appalachian Train Gear List:

c Backpack with camelback insert: Osprey Xenon 85 Women's Backpack
c Trekking poles: Black Diamond Trail Ergo Cork Trekking Poles
c pack rain cover:

SHELTER AND SLEEPING:
c Tent: Tarptent Double Rainbow plus pole extender tips, tyvek groundsheet, and stuffsak
c Sleeping Bag: Halo +25
c Thermal sleeping bag liner
c Sleeping pad: Thermarest Neo Air Mattress

FOOD AND HYDRATION:
c Bear Vault: BV500
c Stove: Jetboil personal cooking system
c Fuel:
c spork
c long-handled spoon
c coffee press cup
c Water filter: Katadyn Hiker Pro Water Filter

CLOTHING:
c ____ pairs underwear (what kind???)
c 2 sports bras (one to wear, one to pack)
c 1 pair lightweight compression shorts in case I experience chafing
c 1 pair convertible pants
c Macabi skirt
c 2 short-sleeve shirts (one to wear, one to pack)
c MontBell Ultralight Thermawrap Insulated Parka
c Smartwool socks: 2-3 pair
c rain pants
c rain jacket
c hat
c gloves
c Patagonia Capilene 3 leggings (or similar thermal garment)
c Patagonia Capilene 3 long-sleeve shirt (or similar thermal garment)
c shoes: probably trailrunners, but what about camp shoes? water crossings?

TOILETRIES AND MISC. PERSONAL ITEMS:
c Decomposing Field wipes (available at Wal-Mart)