PDA

View Full Version : Lots of questions

CatchUp
08-04-2010, 09:42
I am not sure if this is the right place to be posting this - so don't mind me.

I have a lot of questions, and they keep popping up all the time.

I am a newbie, and I was wondering how one goes about finding a hiking partner or group? How it is that you can feel safe with them? What is the etiquette for this?

Also, how long should you practice and how do you train to be able to carry a pack for, say a 3-4 day trip?

Thank you guys for your patience if this is in the wrong place!

couscous
08-04-2010, 09:48
You might visit a local hiking club - http://www.nynjtc.org/content/member-clubs
They probably have hikes in the Greenbelt Conservancy (http://www.sigreenbelt.org/)
Others can tell you what works for them, but experience helps you determine what works for you.

CatchUp
08-04-2010, 09:52
I have done a lot of the piddly hiking around my area. A lot of it is completely overrun by brambles and poison ivy. From what I have seen of the AT, it's much much nicer.

I will check out the local hikers clubs...thank you!

couscous
08-04-2010, 10:39
Hiking clubs are usually a great way to meet people with similar interests, ask questions, borrow gear and participate in weekend or longer backpacking trips with a small group. I'd enjoy living that close to the AT, but I'm allergic to cities (https://www.atctrailstore.org/catalog/iteminfo.cfm?itemid=622&compid=1).
https://www.atctrailstore.org/images/imid622L.jpg

max patch
08-04-2010, 10:59
Check out the your local ATC club (links from appalachiantrail.org) mine (gatc) has a yearly schedule of hikes posted, bulletin board at local outfitter, or meetup.com for local hiking groups.

Best way to "practice" for a 3 day hike is to do a short out and back overnighter. Repeat.

Spokes
08-04-2010, 11:13