PDA

View Full Version : Just introducing myself

One Half
08-06-2010, 10:00
I just wanted to say hello to everyone out there. I haven't hiked in a few years but my husband and I were pretty into it before having our son. We have done some hikes with him but none in the last couple of years (he's 12 now). We were trail adopters for a few years so that got us out at least a couple of times a year with our son. Really itching to get back into it. Hiking was always my meditation.

We plan on thru hiking once our son is old enough to go with us or old enough to stay alone or with family/friends for an extended period of time. Looks like it will be at least 4 years.

I am a personal trainer, I run my own company, so if anyone wants advice about conditioning for hiking or how to handle injuries give me a holler. I know what it's like to have to sit on the sidelines when you want to be on the field.

Storm
08-06-2010, 10:26
Welcome to WhiteBlaze.

You'll probably get more questions on conditioning than you can handle.:welcome

Bare Bear
08-06-2010, 11:16
Unless you are the 'knee fairy'..........
welcome to WB

Kerosene
08-06-2010, 14:39
You should realize that 12 years old isn't too young to do a thru. Of course, you'll have to support him more and he may not be ready to be removed from his electronic tethers for 6 months at such a formative stage, but younger kids have done it! Of course, if you wait 4 years then he should be big enough to carry some of your gear!

There are a lot of us young-at-heart, aging-in-body hikers here that are dealing with knee issues. Personally, I've been leaving burnt offerings for the knee gods as I've found fairies to be less than helpful.

Hikes in Rain
08-06-2010, 18:16