PDA

View Full Version : Mail Drops?

Snake Farm
08-06-2010, 11:19
Im new to the mail drop scene and am looking for some information about it.

1Will I only be able to resupply at post offices?

2How would I go about resupplying at a post office?

3How far ahead of time should I have my contact at home mail a box to me?

Thanks for any help you can offer!

couscous
08-06-2010, 11:32
Click on "Thru Hiking Info" - then "Prep Articles" - read through the articles linked on the left side.

MattBuck30
08-06-2010, 11:42
You can send re-supplies to hostels as well. Just give them a call first to let them know when you will be there to pick up the package. Post offices are pretty easy. Just show up and bring an ID in case they ask for it. I had my boxes shipped a week or 2 in advance, depending on which section I was hiking (also depends on what you have in the box and how long the products last). Once you realize how many miles you are able to hike each day, you can gage where you will be at. Obviously it's slower moving when going over certain mountains. It is always better to underestimate your mileage than overestimate and go hungry. I had that happen a few times at the beginning of my hike. Hope that helps!

Spokes
08-06-2010, 14:11
I did maildrops on last years thru and if I did it over again would really minimize them. There's a lot of places to re-supply along the way- no worries. My girlfriend mailed them to me about a week ahead and I never had a problem getting them. She used delivery confirmation as an added incentive.

I got good use out of my bounce box and stocked it with hard to find items like travel size toothpaste, hand sanitizers, herbal supplements, vitamins, small journal notepads, extra alky stove, etc.....

Yes, read the articles couscous referred to!!!!

Snake Farm
08-07-2010, 00:42
Thanks for the help guys. Still gotta get a complete understanding of the mail drops.