PDA

View Full Version : Why the penny?

pgustaf249
08-13-2010, 15:03
I'm new to the hiking crowd. I'm learning about trekking poles, tents, hammocks, cooking, etc. and have a question about the alcohol stoves I see people building on Youtube. I notice that some folks place a penny in the center of their alcohol stove built from a couple of aluminum cans. What is the significance of placing the penny in the center?

Luddite
08-13-2010, 15:24
I think its to extinguish the flame.

Luddite
08-13-2010, 15:28
Nevermind, I that is not why they use the penny.

ky chris
08-13-2010, 15:30
the penny seals the filling hole causing the stove to pressurize and form jets of flame around the sides.

The jets of flame will boil water faster but not necessarily more efficiently. They also look cool.

Spokes
08-13-2010, 16:04
...... and remember- Always place the penny heads-up for good luck.

1azarus
08-13-2010, 19:12
...... and remember- Always place the penny heads-up for good luck.
wow. that explains why sometimes i can't light the darn thing. got to remember that.

RedneckRye
08-14-2010, 01:38
Wouldn't a dime be lighter?

moytoy
08-14-2010, 08:02
Hate those heavy coins..use an aluminum screw in mine.

mateozzz
08-14-2010, 13:56
I think the penny is about the correct weight to be heavy enough to seal and prevent the alcohol from running under until enough suction is created in the space underneath. <science>The burning alcohol on top causes the air underneath to heat up, expand, and escape out the holes. This causes a drop in pressure under the penny and when it gets low enough, the alcohol gets sucked under the penny and (hopefully) starts boiling. The alcohol vapors then flow out the holes and make nice jets.</science> Its a good weekend project, I've build a couple of variations but the penny works pretty good. Its also a good conversation starter at shelters!

crazyonelost
08-14-2010, 15:47