PDA

View Full Version : Best Sleeping Bag?

SwingLow
08-16-2010, 16:46
I have a 0 degree sleeping bag but it is 5.5lbs and very bulky. When I did the Ga portion of the AT I brought a cheaper, 25 degree sleeping bag which was also very bulky and still 3.5lbs. I get very cold when I sleep, and especially now that I have a hammock it will be even colder. I am not sure what sleeping bag to get or what temperature. I need something not too expensive and that packs up small. I also am wondering if synthetic would be better to use since it would still stay warm if wet.

garlic08
08-16-2010, 17:11
There's a great saying that goes, "Down is always better unless it isn't."

Ask yourself if you're likely to ever get the bag wet, especially in a hammock. I finally switched from synthetic to down for my first thru hike and I kicked myself for waiting so long. What finally convinced me was that of all the trips I took in the rain (and I lived in the Pacific Northwest for a number of years, so there were many rainy trips), I realized that I was always able to keep the bag dry. Since making the switch to down, and many busy seasons later, I've still never managed to wet out my sleeping bag. Damp, yes, but not enough to compromise the down.

A good inexpensive down bag is the Campmor 20: http://www.campmor.com/outdoor/gear/Product___40065 I've had it down to 20 and survived, but it's not the best 20 degree bag around. If you have a little more money than that, try to get better quality down. In other words, get the best bag you can afford. Wait for a sale if you can.

Hammocking is different, I think. The one time I tried it with my excellent sleeping bag, I was really cold. You might be better off with a two quilt system.

gunner76
08-16-2010, 17:40
A problem that rarely gets mentioned is how big are you. At 6ft2+ and 270 lbs I can not use many of the bags mentioned because of my size and I need a rectangular bag with some room to sprawl.