PDA

View Full Version : New Hiker

collegehiker
11-23-2004, 03:17
I am very new to hiking, and hiking the entire AT has been a dream of mine since I heard about it a few years ago. I plan to hike the entire At in early 2007 and I am trying to gain as much knowledge about every aspect of hiking the trail as I can. I have no idea what kind of gear I need, what I don't need, how to plan for food, and water consumption, and all the basic stuff that is essential. I know this is a pretty broad thread, but again, I am a brand-newbie to the idea of hiking. Any info or suggestions would be awesome.

Bloodroot
11-23-2004, 04:40
Well I answered with a lenghtly response so here's the short version.

Joining Whiteblaze was a great decision. There is a wealth of knowledge and experience here. All these questions you have usually can be covered in the "Forums" section of this website. If not, post a thread, I'm sure you will get a sufficient response.

Being new to hiking/backpacking my best advice is to get out and do it. Take mental notes of the problems you've encountered. When you get back consider the solution.

Happy trails!

The Hog
11-23-2004, 07:40
I completely agree with Bloodroot. Between now and 2007, try to plan and execute at least a couple of one week trips on the A.T. That will forcefully demonstrate what most contributors to this site already know: that it's helpful to be in (very) good shape before you start, that you will want to ruthlessly minimize your pack weight to maximize your enjoyment of the hike, and that there are a multitude of ways to successfully hike the trail. The trick is to find out which ones work for you.

Pole Climber
11-23-2004, 08:06