PDA

View Full Version : Chicken Almondine - FBC style

Dicentra
09-03-2010, 12:05
Chicken Almondine
Serves 1

Sent to the Queets with OlyHiker and GoBlue Hiker

3 tablespoons dried chicken (or pouch/can)
1/3 cup instant rice
2 tablespoons dried mushrooms
2 tablespoons powdered milk
1 tablespoon freeze dried green beans
1 teaspoon dried parsley
½ teaspoon dried celery
½ teaspoon dried chives
2-3 tablespoons chopped or slivered almonds

At home: combine everything but the almonds in a zip locking plastic bag. Place the almonds in a second bag.

In camp: add just enough hot water to cover. Stir well and place in a cozy. When the rice and vegetables are rehydrated, stir again and serve topped with the almonds

skinewmexico
09-03-2010, 12:45
I have got to try that this weekend. Thanks!

Graywolf
09-03-2010, 13:22
Sounds great!! Thanks..

Jonnycat
09-03-2010, 13:27
Darnit, now I'm hungry. I hope you brought enough to share with the class!

pgustaf249
09-10-2010, 23:39
I'm new to the backpacking, trail cooking scene.

So where do you get dried chicken? Is it a regular grocery store item? And it will keep in there with all the dried ingredients until you cook it up? Is there a limit as to how long you can carry it around?

LaurieAnn
09-11-2010, 14:22
pgustaf... Dicentra isn't specific as to whether the chicken is freeze-dried or home-dried which will make a difference in rehydration times. Perhaps she'll pop in and clarify which the recipe calls for.

You can buy freeze-dried and dehydrated chicken from speciality shops such as outdoors stores and places like PackIt Gourmet. I'd be apt to use freeze-dried in this recipe but that's just me.