PDA

View Full Version : opening an outfitter

orions_knight
09-06-2010, 17:52
First off, hello all. ive been trolling this site for sometime in prep for my 2013 thru-hike(after my navy contract is up). Love this site!

But to the point. A friend and I have been entertaining the idea of opening an outfitter/hostel for runners/bikers/hikers and the like somewhere near the trail. He being from NC and myself being from GA, we want to stay somewhere in the south close to our roots but still be able to serve a majority of outdoors enthusiast.

So my questions are:
Taking your knowledge and experience of the trail into account, where would you most like to see an outfitter/hostel along the AT?

What would you like to see offered there as far as supplies, activities and accomodations are concerned?

How far from the trail would you consider a reasonable distance for walking and/or if you had a ride to and from provided by the outfitter?

Also, feel free to add any information or comments you might have. I have thick skin so lay it on me. This is just an idea right now but I want to know if its even worth considering before i get ahead of myself. Thanks all!!

10-K
09-06-2010, 17:55
The south is pretty much hostel-ized....

This came up a week or so ago.. I think Port Clinton, PA would be a great place for a hostel with a bit of outfitter thrown in.

Forewarned though.... Cabelas is just down the street in Hamburg. There was an outfitter in Port Clinton before that. Don't know if it's a coincidence or Cabelas put them under.

Cabelas does not have a hostel nor a for fee shuttle service.

mountain squid
09-06-2010, 19:23
http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-signs087.gifto WB and thanks for the service (I'm a retired Chief).

As far as the hostel/outfitter goes, I would highly suggest spending some time as a caretaker at an already established hostel beforehand. You'll learn alot and probably find out whether or not you would really like to do it.