PDA

View Full Version : 0 degree bag for $70?

hallelujahjafar
09-14-2010, 14:36
So I've began looking for a good bag for this winter. I have found a Kelty Cosmic 0 degree bag on Campmor for $70. I am curious as to whether or not you guys think this is a good buy or not. I am not necessarily worried about the weight seeing that I do not plan to use this for extensive backpacking, but just weekend trips. It comes in at 4lbs which seems like a lot, but do you guys think that it is worth the extra pound? The price seems rather low to me, but I'm not sure if there are any better alternatives.

jeepcachr
09-14-2010, 15:54
What is winter like in Tennessee? Is a 0 degree bag necessary? Winter in Michigan, yes you need a 0 degree bag and then some sometimes. Check how big it packs down to, it may take up your whole pack or need to be strapped to the outside. I have an old 0 degree bag like that.

A pound doesn't seem like much but it adds up in a hurry. Most guys are happy when they can shave ounces, if they can shave a pound they'd be ecstatic. You may not think it would matter for a short weekend trip but I'm enjoying my short backpacking trips more this year than I ever have. For the first time I've made a concentrated effort to get my pack weight down. I hiked 3 miles labor day weekend with a 55 lb pack (took my 3 little ones with me) and it was harder than the longer hikes I've done this summer.

skinewmexico
09-14-2010, 16:07
Personally, I'd feel better about the closeout (overfilled) Luxurylite bag for $99. A full pound+ lighter too.

johnnybgood
09-14-2010, 16:28
I bought a similar 0 degree bag a couple years ago and it's ok for the $69.95 I paid for it , but mine weighed 3 lbs -1 ou. ( stuff sack included.)

Add a little more cash and get a bag thats sub 3 lbs , Imho.
Also post here on the "Gear Wanted " forum for gently used winter bag.

Reid
09-14-2010, 16:50