PDA

View Full Version : thru-hike pack access..also, gals, pack choice?

bandit
09-17-2010, 16:34
Hey! I'm new to this awesome website, and trying to get my act together for an AT thru-hike in '11.

I was wondering what you guys think about pack access for thru-hiking. I've got a front access daypack, and that's definitely my favorite feature. Though I probably won't get that lucky with my next pack, it seems to me that a 60L pack hauling all your stuff should at least have more than one top access point to help maintain sanity and keep cursing and ill-will towards your pack to a minimum. Comments, thoughts, expostulations?

Ladies, any recommendations on packs? Will probably carry avg 30-35 lbs on my thru-hike, I'm 5'3" and am leaning towards the Osprey Aura 65. Definitely want to stay in the 3.5 lb or less range.

Llama Legs
09-17-2010, 16:50
Osprey Aura 65

Saw many women using them "out there". Would be a great choice if you think you really need to carry 35 pounds. Work on that base weight !

couscous
09-17-2010, 17:12
I would suggest trying on packs designed for both women and men. I've hiked with women who found "mens" packs fit them better and men who found "womens" pants fit them better. ~ If you're looking at Osprey packs, you may want to look at the Exos 58 and it's two vertical zipper pockets.
"..it seems to me that a 60L pack hauling all your stuff should at least have more than one top access point to help maintain sanity and keep cursing and ill-will towards your pack to a minimum." - Agreed. Top loaders require users to pretty much empty their pack out to get to anything near the bottom. Some old Gregory packs had large front access zippers allowing access to anything without unloading them, but they were very heavy. Lots of threads on here about the advantages/disadvantages of internal vs. external vs. modular frame packs.

Razor
09-17-2010, 17:31