PDA

View Full Version : Knorr Pasta Sides Question (FBC)

Julie T
09-18-2010, 10:14
Hello! I'm a beginner at trail cooking, and have decided to stick with FBC. I'm not here to discuss that decision, but I'm looking for advice about the Knorr Pasta Sides, specific to FBC.

This is what I've done at home to test it out:

-Pour entire contents of pouch into freezer bag.
-Measure out water and bring to a boil (more on this below)
-Pour water into freezer bag
-Knead breifly
-Wrap in a combo of pot-holders and Kitchen towels (remember, I'm doing a home-trial)
-Wait 10, 20, or 30 minutes (tried several different times)

Regarding the water - I originally (foolishly) used the amount on the package. (2 cups in most cases).. The second time I cut the amount in half, and there was no extra liquid. It seems that I got the correct amount of water now, because the pasta was soft and the sauce was thickened.
The problem is that the noodles taste like uncooked dough.. even if I wait 30 minutes. I know it's staying hot, because it is almost impossible to handle even once 20 minutes pass.. but what am I doing wrong? Do most people have this taste and just deal with it?

If I can't get this to work, I'm going to switch to home-cooked dehydrated pasta, but I'd like to try a few more times!

How do you get a successful FBC with Knorr pasta sides?

Moose2001
09-18-2010, 10:22
Julie - Knorr sides, both pasta and rice, are not dehydrated dinners. They require full cooking time.

Julie T
09-18-2010, 10:27
Thanks for your reply :) I understand that the pasta in Knorr is uncooked, but I have seen recipes and instructions on how to FBC them.. The water supposedly stays hot enough to "cook" the pasta.. :(

Like I said, if I can't get this trick to work, I'll def. switch over to dehydrating pre-cooked pasta.

burger
09-18-2010, 10:42
I use about 1 1/8 cups water per Knorrs package (I often do doubles at once).