PDA

View Full Version : 1st Thru Hike & Camel Back use?

CollegeEscape
09-20-2010, 22:41
Hello All; New user here, looking to possibly do a Thru Hike in the next several years. I am currently a Junior Nursing Student in College, but am having a difficult time & looking to get away & for a while & get my head on straight! Any comments on this?

Now, I have not seen anyone mention the use of Camel Backs on Thru hikes in my limited research. I have a Military Issue Camel back that holds 3L of water. Would this be a good thing to bring on the trail, or would this not be advisable? How else is water typically carried? I have heard of people taking 2 liter bottles & throwing them in their backpack, but the camel back displaces the weight better I believe. Thoughts?

Thanks for all the help!

Mountain Wildman
09-20-2010, 23:01
I have a 100 ounce Camelbak Unbottle that I bought for my Thru-Hike next year.
It weighs 14.4 ounces, I decided to not use it and instead bought a Platypus 2 Liter Hoser which is basically the same thing without the cordura cover, The Platy 2 Liter weighs 3.6 ounces and the 3 Liter Platypus Hoser weighs 3.8 ounces. 10.8 ounces off my pack weight.

Panzer1
09-20-2010, 23:25
your military issued camelback was designed to survive in a combat environment. The only way they can do that would be to make it heavy. The civilian version is much lighter, which it think is what you want to go with.

Panzer

Mountain Wildman
09-20-2010, 23:37
your military issued camelback was designed to survive in a combat environment. The only way they can do that would be to make it heavy. The civilian version is much lighter, which it think is what you want to go with.

Panzer

My 3 Liter Camelbak without the cover is 9.1 ounces.
I'd consider the Platy but it's up to you.

CollegeEscape
09-20-2010, 23:39
Thank you all for the replies! I have never heard of the Platy before, but it makes total sense!

Mountain Wildman
09-20-2010, 23:56