PDA

View Full Version : Winter Backpacking - Great Smoky Mtns NP

MicahDawgNC
12-01-2004, 00:24
I'm looking for answers and suggestions as I am new to winter backpacking!

I am planning 2 backpacking excursions to GSMNP in the upcoming months (December and January).

I would basically like suggestions for places to go in the Smokies (preferably along the AT) that would be doable for an overnight trip first, then possibly a 2 or 3 nighter. Views are a plus!

I know that, at least when i was there in June, Tricorner Shelter had a roll-down tarp to close in the shelter on its open side. Are there other shelters that have this same feature?

Thanks a lot for your help!
-micahdawg

Ridge
12-01-2004, 01:01
You may have road closures ie: us441 / clingman dome rd plus others. Best bet is to plan a complete trip from Fontana to Davenport Gap (72 miles) and hope for the best. You best talk to GSMNP Rangers if you are going to try to access some of the interior roads for shorter hikes. They could close while you are on the trail. I have winter hiked the park many times, the weather is very unpredictable during the winter, be prepared. You also have to get permitted and no dogs are allowed. Call the Smokies backcountry office (865-436-1297, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., eastern time; open every day)

Ridge
12-01-2004, 01:06
I would basically like suggestions for places to go in the Smokies (preferably along the AT) that would be doable for an overnight trip first
An overnighter from Clingman's Dome to Newfound Gap (us441) if roads are open. Or, Cosby Campground to Newfound Gap, if camp and roads are open.

Ridge
12-01-2004, 01:09
An overnighter from Clingman's Dome to Newfound Gap (us441) if roads are open. Or, Cosby Campground to Newfound Gap, if camp and roads are open.

Should have been Cosby Campground to Davenport Gap (near I-40)

orangebug
12-01-2004, 07:38
Also, should have been Newfound Gap to Clingman's Dome and back, as that road should be closed now.