PDA

View Full Version : Any Section Hikers Around

MoStevens
09-23-2010, 15:37
I'm a school teacher and I'm planning to section hike during my summer breaks. I'm thinking in like 400 mile increments each year.

Has anyone done this? For example, starting in June and going NOBO?

Rain Man
09-23-2010, 16:32
LilRed did this. Maybe she'll see this thread and jump in. If not, you might PM her.

Rain:sunMan

Bags4266
09-23-2010, 19:27
I section hike, and what I do is look for areas where transportation goes. A starting place that I can take the train to and finish where there will be some type of hub, train bus etc. to get me back.
My wife isn't to keen on driving 6 or more hours to get my smelly arse.

pafarmboy
09-23-2010, 19:59
I, too, am a teacher and started section hiking 2 years ago. We are fortunate to have enough unpaid leave (Yeah, it's not "3 months of paid vacation" for all you teacher haters out there) to have flexibility in the hiking timetable.

Thoughts:

I learned after the first section it's better to drive my car to my ending point and then get a shuttle to the beginning of my hike. No pressure to get done on a certain day/time. Easily worth the "buck a mile" that most charge.

I also learned that I liked to do about 300/400 miles a summer, but not all in one shot. Do 2 weeks, go home and kick back til you get the itch again, and then go out for 2 more. 400 miles as a first section might be a bit much IMO. Because of your job, you dont need to hike 400 miles all in one shot.

Plus, in those first 175 miles I figured out where I could cut pack weight, improve food choices, revamp gear selections, and get a better feel of my miles per day. I was MUCH more prepared during my second 175 miles last summer. Use those first 2 weeks to go from clueless to at least competent.