PDA

View Full Version : Merrell Shoes

Jayboflavin04
09-25-2010, 09:46
I have been wearing Merrells for a few months now and freaking love these "Ventilators"....Love them for everyday use, but want some reviews on trail use..

bpitt
09-25-2010, 09:57
I'm interested in the Ventilators as well. I've a pair of their hiking boots and swear by them. Would like a few reviews on general wear/trail use.

topshelf
09-25-2010, 11:53
I had a pair of ventilators I wore everyday teaching and loved them. Got a pair to take on the trail, they wore down faster than anything. The tread wore and became slick fast. When I bought the shoes I got them tight and could barely slide them on. The shoe stretched out and no matter how tight I tied them they were always loose. Not a good thing to run into while on a section hike. I am still healing from the heel blisters they gave me, and I got the blisters in early August.

I'll never wear a pair of merrells to hike in again.

brotheral
09-25-2010, 14:40
I've had very good experiences with Merrell / Wolverine products. Going back at least 12 years ago when I was using their Merrell Eagle and then Ultimate hiking boots. I have 2 pairs of Merrell Convertible Sandals. One is brand new which I put up knowing they'd stop making them. Glad I did :)
My work boots that I've used for many, many 12 hour shifts on concrete floors are 6" Slip Resistant Wolverine Durashocks. Very comfortable.... The pair I had before them were also Wolverine Durashocks. No blisters or sore feet EVER.

Danielsen
09-25-2010, 14:52
Which Ventilators? There's the chameleon ventilators, the moab ventilators, and possibly some others... "ventilators" basically just means they're a variant that breathes well.

The Moab ventilator seems to be very popular among backpackers, I know several who own and love them though I've never had them myself.