PDA

View Full Version : Best thing for carrying trash while hiking?

discgolfer
09-26-2010, 17:50
Ive been reading post here for about a year and they are a wealth of useful knowledge. I'm new to hiking and I do hang my food but I have trash in the bag also. Anyone have solution to smell of trash in the bag? On my last hike in the Ozarks woke up to go and get breakfast and there was a black bear working on trying to get my food bag! I think it was the smell of trash not the smell of packaged food. Thanks for all the great post and for any advice you guys or gals could give.

Moose2001
09-26-2010, 18:08
trash inside a ziplock bag. Works well for me.

Mountain Wildman
09-26-2010, 18:09
I use the O P Sak: http://www.basegear.com/op-sak-odor-proof-bag.html
It blocks the odors and you can put it in a separate dry sack or your food bag for hanging.

Storm
09-26-2010, 18:13
I'm pretty new to backpacking myself. So far when I eat breakfast my first morning I put all my trash in the zip lock my breakfast was in. I have a new trash bag available each morning. Since I'm not reopening the bag I haven't noticed any bad smells in my food bag. Of course my nose isn't quite as sensitive as a bears, almost as big though.

Passion Hiker 73
09-26-2010, 18:15
I carry a couple 1 gallon freezer bags and double bag my trash. I also double bag food I open do not eat and save for the next meal. Then place in food bag and hang for night. Use good freezer bags not the ones with the plastic closer thing. Hope this helps. PH73

discgolfer
09-26-2010, 18:18
WOW! I love this site everyone has great advice! THANKS AGAIN!

Lilred
09-26-2010, 18:52
that bear is smelling your food too, not just the garbage. I watched a video of a bear breaking into a car to get to food. I take along those plastic grocery bags from the store. I'll bag four of five into each other to prevent leakage. Every time I resupply, I get more garbage bags.

discgolfer
09-26-2010, 19:47
Should i just go with a bear canister?