PDA

View Full Version : Trail to Every Classroom

topshelf
09-30-2010, 22:25
Has anyone ever heard of this program?

I am a middle school teacher at Fort Chiswell Middle School, first year, and I have two coworkers who attended this professional development course last year. They began an AT Nature Club at our school. So this year when I began to work there I joined. Today was our first club day, I took the 2nd year club members and showed them how to pack a pack and everything I carry in it. The students actually seemed excited with all my gear, how light it is, and how small everything can be packed down to.

I get to spend a class on what to do in survival situations, another on ways to create fire, another on first aid, and any other classes we can think of. We are also going to take them on a trip up to Grayson Highlands to do some hiking. Wish I could take some on an overnighter but don't think that'll be possible.

We are in the Wytheville/Fort Chiswell of Virginia area and I would like to bring in someone who had thru-hiked the trail to let the students hear from someone who's actually hiked the entire trail. Is there anyone out there who might be able to come in and give a presentation and share a bunch of photos from their thru-hike??

Cedar Tree
09-30-2010, 22:53
Hey Redeye, I've not heard of the program, but I'd be happy to do it. I am a teacher too, formally middle school (6th grade) but currently unemployed. I have a powerpoint presentation with about 100 photos from my 2000 thru. I've shown it countless times to my classes and other groups. I live in Marion. PM me or contact me through the Packa website. I'm pretty much available anytime.
Cedar Tree

Lauriep
10-01-2010, 15:19
Redeye,