PDA

View Full Version : Do I need to get any kind of sealant for my new boots and new tent?

rodonne1
10-08-2010, 01:43
Hey guys,
I'm new to WB and was hoping some of you veteran backpackers could give me some advise. I'm doing a 5 day trip on the A.T. in about 3 weeks and recently went out and replaced some of my old camping equipment that was from the early '90's. I was wondering in regards to my new Asolo FSN 95's and my fiancee's Asolo Styngers, both are Goretex, should I get any kind of spray on leather and seam sealer for them before I get them dirty? Also, I purchased at REI a Quarter Dome T2 tent, should I get any kind of seam sealer for it while it's still new and clean? Thanks in advance for any input. -Robbie

IronGutsTommy
10-08-2010, 01:49
hey welcome..i think most would definitely suggest pitching your tent in your yard and applying sealant to all the seams as very few tents are completely waterproof. id treat the boots as well though they should be waterproofed if theyre goretex. couldnt hurt tho. i seal all my footwear and hats upon purchase, sure stretches the life out of a hat

Helios
10-08-2010, 02:10
Silnet, or some form of sealant for your tent is a must. Even if the manufacture says the seams have been sealed. Doesn't cost much, or take long to do. Way better than waking up in a leaky tent and thinking "damn, I shoulda sealed this thing!" :-)

Toolshed
10-08-2010, 03:50
You don't need to do anything with either. The tent is already seam-sealed (Hot-taped) from the manufacturer. just practice setting it up and then decide if you want to use a groundcloth.