PDA

View Full Version : AT Excursion to Erwin from PA in Jan'05 - Suggestions?

tanichols
12-08-2004, 01:53
All,

This is my first posting on Whiteblaze, though I've been reading it almost everyday since I've been introduced to it. You're postings are all so fun to read! Anyways, my name is Ted, I'm 21 years old (almost 22) and I'll be thru-hiking the AT NOBO in '06 and can't wait. Someday I'll be finished with college, and I'm majoring in Earth and Space Science Education. I'm active in Amateur Astronomy and do a lot of stuff outdoors. I'm into Kayaking, Caving, Hiking, Backpacking, Biking, as well as history. Lots more stuff to but I could go on forever! I don't live far from the AT in PA and frequent the Doyle and the Pine Grove Furnace Store quite often to chat with thru-hikers and distribute goodies. This past season I was known for handing out copious amounts of Lorna Doone cookies, long story as to how I got so many. :)I've wanted to hike the AT since I've been 6 and can't wait to get started!

Anyways, I'm AT hungry these days and am looking to do a little "car" exploring January 2nd thru the 9th or so with some day hikes involved as I've got a break to fill and want to experience some of the AT south of here.

I've been intrigued by Miss Janets forever and definitely have that on my list. I've always heard great things about her from the people I've met hiking North in PA and figured she'd be a fun person to chat with. I'm thinking of leaving PA and heading for Erwin for 1 or 2 nights. I'm then looking at working my way back up to PA with maybe 3 nights worths of stops. Anyone have any suggestions on any "must see" places to incorporate along my "AT Fix" trip on the way back to the Harrisburg area from Erwin? I'm looking for 3 more nights worth of places to stop with a day hike or so incorporated into each.

Any suggestions from you guys have would greatly be appreciated. Thanks!

Looking forward to seeing some of you on the Trail in '06! I'm psyched!