PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Pack Choice

Jujube7
10-22-2010, 22:16
I'm fairly new to backpacking and I've done a couple trips before but I need a new pack. The one I'm using now is not mine. I'm planning a SOBO AT thru for 2011. I've tried on a couple packs already. Right now I'm stuck between a Granite Gear Vapor Trail and an Osprey Aura. I've loaded them both with ~25lbs of gear and they feel about the same comfort wise. Could anyone comment on how a pack is supposed to feel when it's fitted right? Suggestions for other packs would be nice too. I'm female, 18, ~115lbs, 5'3". I'm also wondering if I would conceivably have to carry more than 30lbs for short periods of time and if the GG Nimbus Ozone would make a better choice. I'm new here, so hello everyone :)

perrito
10-22-2010, 22:22
The Granite Gear Vapor Ki is the female version of the Vapor Trail. I know someone with it and she loves it.

Mountain Wildman
10-22-2010, 22:36
You can easily stay under 30 pounds depending on what you carry and the weights.
One Liter of water weighs 2.2 pounds plus the container weight. If you carry 2 liters you are close to five pounds right there. Food could be as much as 2 pounds per day so depending on how many days you will be out without re-supply will determine food weight. You could be at 15 pounds with food and water alone quite easily.
I use a Mystery Ranch pack so I have no experience with the Osprey or GG but I've heard nothing but good about both packs.

Oh, :welcome

IronGutsTommy
10-22-2010, 23:37