PDA

View Full Version : Clothing options for NOBO March 1st Departure

tawa
10-26-2010, 14:46
Interested in how others leaving Springer around March 1st plan on wearing and what is the minimum amount and items of clothing needed for this early departure.
Thanks in advance for sharing.
Tawa

SawnieRobertson
10-26-2010, 15:22
Think WINTER backpacking. Layers from a base of smartwool to fluffy jacket/sweater under a Goretex shell, for instance, with an expedition level top and bottom and heavy smartwool socks carefully zipped into a ziplock and removed only at the time you are ready to slip into your 0-degree (+/-) sleeping bag. Remember gloves and a hat. Sound extreme? You'll be grateful for every bit of it, and you can always peel the layers off for the 70-degree day(s).--Kinnickinic

tawa
10-26-2010, 15:39
Thanks Sawnie for the good advice. I have a 20Degree bag so may need to eget a silk liner or a bag down to zero.
Tawa

Luddite
10-26-2010, 16:15
Thanks Sawnie for the good advice. I have a 20Degree bag so may need to eget a silk liner or a bag down to zero.
Tawa

It depends how warm you sleep and the quality of your sleeping bag. It would be cheaper and lighter to buy silk liner instead of another bag.

BrianLe
10-26-2010, 18:33
We went through this thread discussion last year, you might look at this thread:
http://whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?t=57470

This one had some relevant comments too, I think:
http://whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?t=54534

And undoubtedly it was discussed in past years as well (!).

I don't mean to derail discussion here, just saying that there are a lot of posts on the same topic that you could refer to.

Mountain Wildman
10-26-2010, 18:40
It's easy enough to bring extra layers and winter gear in case it is really cold and ship them home or to a friend if you find that you don't need them.

Carbo
10-26-2010, 20:18
We went through this thread discussion last year, you might look at this thread: