PDA

View Full Version : Solar Power on Trail

art gypsy
11-09-2010, 12:50
I am a photographer preparing for my 2011 NOBO thru hike and am researching solar power for my camera batteries and cellphone. Any advice would be appreciated. I see that REI has some different models and I am not sure which one will work best. Ideally, it would be nice if everything could use USB ports to charge. I have a Nikon D300 and a Nokia cellphone.

StorminMormon
11-09-2010, 13:11
This is the one I use

http://www.amazon.com/Sunpak-Sc-2800-Solar-Battery-Charger/dp/B003E6J6EI/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1289322124&sr=8-4

It will charge a cell phone about 2 times. As far as a camera battery...not sure, haven't had to do that yet. The reason I go this is because it's small and it has a 2800 mAh (milli-amp hour) battery attached. 2800 is quite a bit when we're talking small devices.

Now, the ones at REI are 1600 mAh or less. They might have some different adapters, and that might make all the difference. A couple of them are designed to be rugged and withstand a drop or two, but if you're careful the one from Amazon will do just fine. And by careful I mean, don't step on it or drop it in the river or something like that.

BrianLe
11-09-2010, 15:07
I carried a solar charger for most of the PCT, but didn't even consider one on the AT, and I'm glad that I didn't. For a thru-hiker, I think you're likely to get too little charge relative to the overall weight plus cost plus hassle factor.

I suggest instead --- for the AT --- that you carry extra batteries for whatever devices, and charge them all up in hostels, motels, restaurants, whereever there's an electric plug that you can get permission to use. There are so very many ways to get off trail to resupply along the AT that I think on average I carried maybe 3 days of food, and recharged my smartphone most times I got off trail. That was plenty.

BrianLe
11-09-2010, 15:12