PDA

View Full Version : New Hiker, Planning trail start in March

Newb
12-13-2004, 15:46
Hi everyone. Let me introduce myself. I'm new to hiking and plan to start a nobo hike at the end of March. I'll probably hike for a month and head home, it's rather open ended right now.
I have a few questions though.
How cold will it be at the beginning of April on the trail? Does anyone have a good suggestion of a clothing mix to take at that time of year?
Also, I plan to load up a weeks worth of food to start (freeze dried stuff, etc) but not to do any drops. Is this a problem when starting at Springer mtn?
Do a lot of folks start the trail at the March/April junction?
Will I freeze my assets off ?

I'm fresh out of the Air Force after 10 years active duty. Me and my tricky knees are gonna go out for a little adventure, I hope find a little helpful advice along the way.

bitpusher
12-13-2004, 16:21
If you're only planning on hiking for a month or so, then why not postpone your hike until May? Much nicer weather then, and the crush of thru's is gone.

Spirit Walker
12-13-2004, 17:46