PDA

View Full Version : What's the best food dehydrator

Freedom Walker
11-19-2010, 21:47
I want to get a very good dehydrator for Christmas and I want it it to be useful for getting trail meals ready as well as drying fruit ( I grow blueberries). This may have up come before, so I apologize. Thanks

medicjimr
11-19-2010, 22:56
I have been using my Nesco for 2 years love it although I do like the I believe it's called the Excalibur Dehydrators there about $300 compared to $ 50 for nesco They have the flat trays that slide in and out .

Half Note
11-20-2010, 01:25
Yeah, I've done my research on these. The Excaliburs are the best. You definitely want horizontal dehydration (faster/efficient). I made the mistake in purchasing a Vegikiln and it was horrible. I bought it because it was considerably cheaper than the Excalibur.

The trays acted as the "door" for the unit and it didn't not dehydrate properly at all and took a crazy long time. It's gotten some good reviews so I don't know if it was just the one I received or what, but it didn't do it's job.

If you don't mind paying the bigger bucks, go for the Excalibur. Looks like they've gone down in price: http://www.amazon.com/Excalibur-2900-9-Tray-Food-Dehydrator/dp/B000Q7GUJ2/ref=pd_sbs_k_3
(http://www.amazon.com/Excalibur-2900-9-Tray-Food-Dehydrator/dp/B000Q7GUJ2/ref=pd_sbs_k_3)
/my two cents

leaftye
11-20-2010, 01:45
Yeah, don't get the round stacking trays. They're a hassle you shouldn't deal with if you have the money for straight front loading trays.

Spokes
11-20-2010, 11:49
Half Note is right- horizontal drying is the way to go and the price on that Excalibur model is very reasonable.

Pedaling Fool
11-20-2010, 11:55
I also have the Excalibur. If you do a lot of dehydrating that's the way to go. If you don't do so much dehydrating or you're just getting into it and not sure, then go with a model you get at a department store.

Bags4266
11-20-2010, 12:06