PDA

View Full Version : Hi-Tec tundra II Trail runners?

TheYoungOne
11-26-2010, 21:11
Sports Authority has these on clearence for $39. I have seen them briefly at REI, but I have zero experience with Hi-tec. They are supposedly waterproof, and in handling them they seem to have a shank, which is odd for a trail runner, but it may be good for me since I hike the rocky parts of the AT in PA.

Anyone have any experience with them.

http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:MPmqtogZMDcjYM:http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x287/luki182/TUNDRAIIWP-2.jpg&t=1

burntoutphilosopher
11-26-2010, 21:18
my mom day hikes in some hi techs i get her at REI-outlet deal of the deal.

obviously she doesn't do major miles, but she likes them, waterproofing has held up so far for about a year and she finds them comfortable.

this is as close as i can come to a 'review' never owned them for myself, but they don't seem popular o you might have trouble getting first hand reviews.

pjkirk
11-26-2010, 23:49
I've had some Hi-Tecs before (not that model). Generally comfortable and reasonable construction (seemed good for the price at least). When they wore-out it was almost immediate....all padding was pretty much non-existent one day.

Mags
11-28-2010, 20:44
Hi-tecs are what I call 'bread and butter' shoes: Nothing fancy, gets the job done and at a reasonable price.

I did the last chunk of the CDT in Hi-tecs. FWIW, when I use boots (mainly trail work and alpine climbing), the Hi-Tec Altitudes are the one boot I've been buying consistently since 2003.

TheYoungOne
01-11-2011, 01:07
So I bought a pair last month and just an update..there are so far pretty good.

Just to start off I took out the insoles in them and replaced them with superfeet insoles since I have a case of PF and I have been testing a few different insoles. I will say the factory insoles in them seemed really thin.