PDA

View Full Version : Winter Tent Stakes

C-Stepper
11-29-2010, 14:20
I'm not new to winter backpacking, but I am new to tenting in the winter.

What stakes do you carry to erect your tent in places where there may or may not be snow? I'm heading to the Smokies in a few weeks, and I am wondering if I need to take snow stakes, or what others do to plan for tenting in snow. Thanks.

srestrepo
11-29-2010, 15:03
well, i've been asking about this for a few weeks now, the problem is that sometimes in the mornings if you've used aluminum stakes, the frozen ground bonds to the aluminum. i did read up on the fact that ice and frozen ground doesn't bond well to titanium. but i dont know how i feel about using Ti needle stakes which are the only ones that i could find.

i'm interested in knowing what anyone else has to say about this as i use a tarp and its important that i make sure thats held down so that i dont get snow on me in the morning.

10-K
11-29-2010, 15:16
Hmmmm.. I've tented in all kinds of weather, including snow accumulations of over a foot and I've always used the same stakes I use in the summertime. Maybe I've just been lucky and found good spots to pitch my tent but it's never been a problem.

I use MSR groundhog stakes....

srestrepo
11-29-2010, 15:22
i used a set of Msr groundhogs last year. when i put up my tarp it was like 40, ground was a bit muddy so the stakes went in great. but, when woke up the next day it was 10 degrees. the ground had literally frozen to the stake. i put a stick in the loop to get them out and they didn't budge, i tried to kick the stake to free it from the ice. nothing worked. i had to melt and boil snow and pour it slowly over the stake and get it out eventually.

garlic08
11-29-2010, 15:25
I use titanium shepherd's crook stakes year 'round. In deep snow I use skis and poles and I carry a little extra cord to make deadmen with sticks.

ChinMusic
11-29-2010, 15:51