PDA

View Full Version : First Hike - Springer to Deep Gap (6 Days)

High Jacker
12-02-2010, 08:24
Hi All!

First, let me just say what a tremendous resource this forum has been. I've been lurking for some time and have gathered a wealth of information. Thank you!

I'm about to head out on a 6 day solo trip from Springer Mtn to Deep Gap. I'm relatively new at this and this will be my first trip alone (and longest trip so far) and while I've been able to get most of my questions answered from friends and this board, I have a few left which I've listed below.

1. I have an orange pack cover I'll use to discourage anyone from shooting at me. Will this be enough?

2. I'm carrying bear spray as a deterrent to bears and other nefarious creatures. I'm also attaching a bear bell to the pack so that they hear me coming. Anything else I need? (A friend recommended carrying a .32 but to be honest I don't want the extra weight and doubt something that size will do much but annoy the type of animals I can't fend off with a swift kick anyway.

3. Going to Deep Gap is not a requirement (just want to do the Georgia section), however, it appears this will be the easiest place to meet up with my ride. (I'm being dropped off and picked up by some fantastic friends) Anyone know if it'll be open to vehicles?

4. Safety in general is a concern. While I realize hiking alone isn't the best bet for this, it's really my only option. I've read plenty of trail journals where folks have hiked the AT alone, but it's usually during the peak season. Anything I need to look out for during the winter?

5. Anything else I'm missing?

Again, I appreciate your help - You guys rock!!

High Jacker
12-02-2010, 08:25
One last thing... six days seems to be a reasonable pace. I'm 27 and in fairly decent shape so I don't think this will be a problem... thoughts on that?

High Jacker
12-02-2010, 08:33