PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and Preperation

The Well
12-07-2010, 02:24
Hello Everyone,
I'm obviously new on the scene here and could not find a better place to post this introduction than here in the general discussion forum. :welcome(Mods if there is/was a better place I'm sorry in advance and feel free to move it to where it belongs :-)
I have recently decided that I want to embark on the the journey of thru-hiking the AT. I have little to no experience in long distance hiking and I was wondering where I should begin. I am currently perusing these forums and their wonderful advice as well as the official AT information website. I am allowing myself plenty of preparation time, my current plan has me in the 2012 class.
Please don't flame as I am trying not to be a troll but rather be engaged in the conversations on this forum and would like helpful advice rather than simple replies of L2Search. Thank you! And I hope to join you all on the trail soon.

Ryan

MisplacedMainer
12-07-2010, 03:05
I think most people would say just educate yourself thoroughly. Make sure you really have the itch under the skin that won't go away till you've completed the AT; not just a fleeting fancy from reading an article in a backpacking magazine. I would say have fun, be safe, and good luck!

Johnny Thunder
12-07-2010, 03:29
welcome. i would first caution you to take any information you read on/learn from an internet message board with a grain of salt. there are many resources local to you who can help broaden your knowledge about our little hobby.