PDA

View Full Version : Hello & Merry Christmas from Mosey

Mosey
12-22-2010, 10:04
Hi everyone. I've been lurking here on WhiteBlaze for weeks, possibly months. I have really enjoyed reading some of the threads here, and also many trail journals. I figured, enough lurking, time to come outta the bushes and say "Hi!"

I'm a newbie hiker. I've been on a few day hikes, many car camping trips, overnite canoe trips, and I now have an obsession with the long green tunnel. I've never hiked the AT, other than walking a hundred yards or so north from Newfound Gap. I vacation in the Smokies nearly every October, and every time I set foot on the AT there, I want to just keep going....but there's always family waiting back at the parking lot, looking at their watches, tapping their feet.

I have felt the "pull" of the AT for some time. I can't explain it. I want to hike the AT. I have no illusions of doing a thru hike (Liar, yes u do sometimes), not sure I could pull it off, but I'd sure love to at least attempt a section or two. I'm fortunate that I've lived half a century and am in fairly good health. My youngest son graduates high school next May, and he and I have talked about taking off to hike some of the trail after his graduation.

I guess that's it in a nutshell. I'm obsessing regularly about the AT, and this site brings me as close to it as I can get at this time. Thanks for all the great articles, posts, journals, etc. I have learned tons of stuff just from browsing WhiteBlaze. I know the only way to learn for real is to just get out there and Do It. Hopefully, I can be 'out there' in the near future.

Thanks again WhiteBlaze members for sharing your knowledge. Here's wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas.

DLANOIE
12-22-2010, 11:03
Welcome and merry christmas to you as well! GLad you came out of the bushes.

Now get out there and do some hiking!:)

4eyedbuzzard
12-22-2010, 11:06
:welcome Merry Christmas to you too

Tinker
12-22-2010, 11:14