PDA

View Full Version : Waterproof boots or not? What say ye?

The Counselor
12-26-2010, 12:55
I am likely to be hiking in wet conditions - rain and fording streams. Would like to find some light, flexible mid height boots in the hundred dollar range. Is it better to get waterproof or not? I've read where some say, they will get wet regardless and if they are waterproof, they simply stay that wet and wont dry out. Others say, get waterproof and stay dry.

So I am a little confused. What's my best bet? Also accepting brand and model suggestions!

Thanks.

ec.hiker
12-26-2010, 13:02
I just ordered these MERRELL Moab Mid Gore-Tex XCR they are kind of the best of both worlds. I read mixed reviews on them . If they leaj they leak if they don't great. I am bringing a pair of croc knock offs to ford streams.

The Counselor
12-26-2010, 13:08
Do you switch to the crocs for fording even in cold conditions? As you can see, I am a newbie. We are about to do our first overnight this week and my understanding is the trail crosses a number of streams that could be flowing pretty well. So do you shed the boots for this even in temps near freezing? If so, I'm guessing you shove your wet feet back into your socks and boots asap?

njordan2
12-26-2010, 13:09
I have found that the only truly waterproof boots are made from rubber. I do not recommend these for hiking.

Alot of the boots that call themselves waterproof and attribute that to a Gortex liner really are not waterproof as much as water resistant. And that is a good thing.

All hiking boots will fill with water when the water goes over the top of them, which is an occurance at least a couple of times a week when hiking on the AT. The gortex lined boots will dry out once they are removed from the wet environment. So will purely leather, unlined boots. Either of these I recommend, and that narrows down the search to just about any boot that is not made from rubber or has some sort of rubber liner.