PDA

View Full Version : Help me plan my hike?

trailhopeful
12-29-2010, 01:41
I'm a college student and this upcoming summer I want to hike about 2 1/2 months worth of the Appalachian trail, from the end of May, early June to early August. I'm not really sure how far I'll get in that length of time or where exactly I should start out. I'm a little out of shape right now (I'm working on it!) so I don't want to start at Katahdin or anywhere extremely difficult and be discouraged early on. Obviously its going to be hot in June/July so that's a factor too. Where do you guys suggest I start?

This is my first time hiking the Appalachian and I'd like to see some really awesome sights. I also wanted to know which part of the trail you thought was the most scenic?

THANKS! :D

hobbs
12-29-2010, 02:05
So you dont know where you want to start? most start NoBo and head to katahdin. iam going NOBO this spring. have you checked out the ATC's website as well for info? have you ordered a guide? These are just a few questions to start you off. Also are you going to buy maps and it is exspensive. Do you have gear? But it can be done you have time to plan.

trailhopeful
12-29-2010, 02:43
I don't know if I want to start NOBO because of the heat down there in the middle of summer. :sun I think it might be better to start somewhere in the middle of the trail, maybe Harpers ferry? Somewhere between Pennsylvania and NY? I've checked out the website, but haven't ordered any guides or a map yet, I'm just trying to get a rough idea at this point.

I also want to avoid crowds so thats another negative for going NOBO.

hobbs
12-29-2010, 04:07