PDA

View Full Version : Hiking The Trail In 2012!

Tude
12-30-2010, 22:04
Hey guys hope all is well an you all had a great christmas an yall will enjoy the new year! Reason Im here, is I got the greatest news...Ive been approved for a 7month leave of 2012 for me to hike the whole Trail!:bananaCould not ask for anything better! Things is Im new to the hardcore hiking...I usually hike on weekends an just camp an dont walk very far but love the outdoors...an have read so much about the trail an Ive always wanted to do it! An havent researched much untill I got approved an its for 2012...

So guys where do I begin? Is there anyone on here thats knows of a book or anyone thats wrote anything how to get stared from gear, to clothes, planing drop-off, food, shelter? All the help would be appreciated! You can message me if you like thanks so much!:sun

Roland
12-30-2010, 22:08
Welcome to WB, Tude.

Begin by perusing the articles (http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=366) section.

Then, you can use the search feature to look for specific topics. That will give you an excellent base. Ask questions to fill in the blanks.

Best of Luck!

Blissful
12-30-2010, 23:09
You're in the right place. Read all you can on articles, forums, etc. Plenty of books out there too on the adventure. And I would read the trail journals of other hikers at trailjournals.com

Tude
12-31-2010, 11:30
I belive someone was telling me that there is a guy on this site called "sarge" or something along that line...but he wrote a whole article on the trail from supplies, clothing, tents, pans, etc.etc.etc...several chapters on diffrent things...does anyone know of him or know of the article?

Roland
12-31-2010, 11:34
You may be talking about Sgt Rock.

Check the articles (http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=366) section I mentioned above. There is lots of good information there, by Rock and other WB members. That is the best place for you to start.

darkage
12-31-2010, 12:05