PDA

View Full Version : Alcohol Stove Recommendations?

thelightinside
01-04-2011, 13:59
I was planning to use a canister stove for my '11 thru but have started looking into alcohol stoves. I've never used one before...is there anything specific I should keep in mind when purchasing one? How does cooking with alcohol compare to cooking with canister fuel? Any recommendations on a good stove? Thanks.

Doc Mike
01-04-2011, 14:01
Supercat stove takes 3 minutes to make and cost 50 cents. I bought several but making them is way more fun and they work just as well.

pic of supercat in my gallery
Doc Mike

Mtn Scout
01-04-2011, 14:45
if you ever attempt to make one you better build a shop. i have went mad making them!!!!!

beas
01-04-2011, 14:56
Lots of options. make your own,(look on youtube for hundreds on videos and types) brasslite is a good one, minibull designs makes really cool ones some cheap some very exspensive.
All kinds out there just do a good bit of homework and remember that that mostly it is just a way of burning alochol most efficiently.

BEAS

Roche
01-04-2011, 18:58
I like my Vargo Triad - fast and light. Two things I learned about cooking with alcohol: 1) it is quiet and 2) the flame can be difficult to see. Luckily I learned this by trying it out in the backyard.

mweinstone
01-04-2011, 19:23
zelph stoveworks if your light
trangia if your heavy
the difinitive ultra cool stove is a zelph stove. his craftmenship is unrivaled whilst his designs be da dope.the starlite is my fav. it gets oos and ahhs cause its almost massless yet a workhorse.
a trangia burnner in a clickstand is the xgk of alcohol. nothing bacons and pancakes better.i ger 45 min out of 3 oz on simmer low. the range of this rig is astounding. it is designed to be flipped over in the clickstand to burn esbit at the propper height.to make a three burner stove for a wilderness feast:

remove burner from clickstand and place three rocks ,twiggs stakes etc around it to hold pot one.