PDA

View Full Version : Water Filter Woes

SMSP
01-05-2011, 13:04
I currently own a Katadyn Hiker Pro. I have only used it in the field 2-3 times, plus 1-2 times at home when I initially bought it. It appears I now need a filter replacement already! I did not get near the life expectancy out of this filter that I should have. I suspect that I didn’t allow the filter to completely dry 100% after cleaning it post-trip over a year ago. I recently used it on an overnighter and it almost did not work at all. Thankfully, it filtered enough water to get me threw an overnighter. Hindsight, I didn’t operate the filter a day or two prior to the trip to make sure it was in operating order, which would’ve allowed me to purchase a new filter prior to the trip. I did all the cleaning and back flushing procedures, and I am sure I need a filter cartridge replacement. This will cost about $40.

Now that I have some experience with filtering, I have learned a few things that has me considering a new system instead of purchasing a replacement filter cartridge. The few times I have used the Hiker Pro, the water source has been a lake, but the depth of the water I can get access to has been very shallow because one is standing on the lake’s edge. This has been problematic because as most know, keeping the weighted end of the line off the bottom is a challenge. Even after adjusting the float piece to the end of the line, it was near impossible to keep the weighted end out of silt and muck. This may have shortened the filters lifespan as well. Also, the hassle of managing the in and out lines while operating the Hiker Pro has been something much less desired. I have been using an Aquafina 1-Liter bottle perched between my feet. This has worked well, but a hassle to say the least.