PDA

View Full Version : Unreasonable to Finish By 6/17?

jgiles3311
01-09-2011, 22:14
I plan to start on 2/10 or close to that. I have extensive backpacking experience mostly in the Sierras, also spent lots of time in the Whites and all over VT. I just ran the NYC Marathon in November so Im in decent shape. I have to get off the trail for 4 days in May to go to my brothers graduation. I plan to take a zero day about once a week give or take. I dont have any budget restrictions, not sure that matters just trying to give as much info as possible.

Is it completely unreasonable to think I can finish by 6/17? Also, starting that early and moving that fast i probably wont see many folks right? Anybody have any experience with finishing this early? Black flies In Maine in June are going to be pretty brutal huh?

SurferNerd
01-09-2011, 22:17
Well if you have no budget restrictions, just buy a plane ticket, LMAO. But in all seriousness, it's not uncommon to see some serious fast people go in 3 months or less. But the quicker you go, the less you see.

jgiles3311
01-09-2011, 22:23
Hahaha. Plane ticket would make it easy wouldnt it?

It wouldnt be the end of the world if i didnt finish by 6/17, I just wouldnt be able to get back on the trail until August. I have obligations from June 18th onward until August more or less. I could potentially get back on for about a week in mid july but i would have to know if I was going to finish in that week...I dont want to be going back and forth three to four times just to do 300 miles.

I know the faster the go the more ill miss...this is the hand i have been dealt. If I dont do this now I likely wont be able to until I retire...

Fog Horn
01-09-2011, 22:31
Its just over four months. People take the trail in about that amount of time seemingly often. I think that your main worry would be overuse injuries, so pay close attention to your body.

And good luck!!

SurferNerd
01-09-2011, 22:36