PDA

View Full Version : Why did/do you want to hike the A. T.?

zrookie
01-14-2011, 14:35
i'm just a little curious as to why you did hike or want to hike the A.T. (either a thru hike or by sections)?

Old Hiker
01-14-2011, 14:44
Sections right now with my Scout Troop - stretch the boys somewhat after summer camp, let them have an "adventure" on the Trail, give them experience in long distance hiking/camping.

Thru in 2012 - not quite sure why, especially as I (un)gracefully age. :-? Maybe just a personal goal, that is mine alone: conceived by me, planned by me, carried out by me or failed by me.

Did that make sense or is it just all about me? :rolleyes:

Wobegon
01-14-2011, 15:36
Thru this coming March...

One of my friends last year randomly had a copy of "A Walk in the Woods" (yes, THAT book) and I picked it up and read through most of it.

I'm a college graduate taking some time off before law school and have been feeling a bit antsy to get out and have a big adventure. During college, I worked a few summers up in Alaska fishing commercially and since have felt a little stuck in the routine.

I also want to challenge myself and accomplish something great. Learning more about myself is a big bonus as well. Frankly, I have the time and money now, so it's a great time to try.

Bags4266
01-14-2011, 15:44
I started hiking small sections around me (no desire to hike the whole trail), then it dawned on me one day just to do the whole thing but in 300-500 mile sections.

Sickmont
01-14-2011, 15:45
As i get older i'm finding the wanderlust and the need to "get away from it all" growing and growing everyday. I truly believe i'm going to die on top of a mountain while living as a hermit in my old age.

strollingalong
01-14-2011, 16:18
read walk in the woods when i was about 15 and decided i could beat that schmuck....when started to look into it i really fell in love with the idea... going to do it 2012, 14 years after the initial idea

Blissful
01-14-2011, 16:22