PDA

View Full Version : Warmest socks ???

GolfHiker
01-16-2011, 13:24
I have basically been on a life long search for the best/warmest socks I can find. Needless to say, I'm still looking. I'm not concerned with hiking socks, but rather campsite & sleeping wear. Nothing ruins a night out like cold feet, so I hope someone out there shares my problem. I know there are a ton of quality sock mfgs., and everyone claims to have the best/warmest, so I would appreciate any real world feedback. With my next winter hike coming up I just thougth I'd ask now.

I'm not a newbie, I'm not doing mountain expiditions, I understand the layering method & I'm willing to spend an appropriate amount. I just hate having cold feet.

lori
01-16-2011, 13:32
Down booties - Western Mountaineering, Sierra Designs and REI have their versions. The WM is the puffiest and has pretty decent soles. And there are also Goose Feet - I am so wanting a pair of Goose Feet with overcovers.

Integral Designs has a primaloft Hot Sock - about forty bucks, cheaper than the down booties but pretty good for sleeping in the cold. Pair them with crocs and you can walk around camp in them.

johnnyblisters
01-16-2011, 15:04
Insert feet into penguins= warmest sock.

Raul Perez
01-16-2011, 15:20
Goosefeet down socks

leaftye
01-16-2011, 16:19
Down booties. Get them overstuffed with down until they're indisputably the warmest socks...if you really must have the warmest. But the answer is down booties. The Goosefeet booties are about the same weight as thick wool socks, but of course they are much warmer.

garlic08
01-16-2011, 18:14
I agree with the down booties idea. I can't see one pair of clean dry socks being too much warmer in a camping situation than any other pair of clean dry socks of the same thickness. regard less of material or mfr claims. But that's the key--clean and dry socks, under puffy insulation whether in your sleeping bag (my method) or booties if you think they're worth the cost and fuss.