PDA

View Full Version : Have my gear...What Pack?

Figgsy13126
01-17-2011, 14:30
Going to purchase my pack this week. I am a newbie..with no experience with backpacking/hiking. Have done some research over the years and think ive come up with a pretty good gear list..all to my liking. I plan on taking all my gear to REI or EMS and try on a few bags. Not sure what brands they will have...Catalyst to big for my list? Circuit better? easy for a newbie to pack..also checking out the ATmos 65 or should i get the 55? What type/sizes should i select?..opinions? I wont by my platypus/bladder till after i get the bag..make sure i get best fitting.

Lunar Solo
Hikin pole
8"stakes
small tent repair kid (needle, thread, etc)

North Face 0 down..(Free) will swap out as i go

Msr Pocket Rocket
2 fuel canisters
Msr spork
texport mug
alpine pot 1l
couglin conatian alls..(small plastic bottle for salt,sugar,honey, etc.. fits in my pot)

Katadyn Hiker Pro
2 gatorade bottles

med kit
bug spray
tube of gold bond
waterproof fire sticks
waterproof matches
2 small rolled up duct tape
sawed off toothbrush
toothpaste'
camp soap
3 carabiners
bic lighter
notebook
pen/pencil
Thru Hike Companion
head lamp

stuff sacks
mesh bag
contractor bag

CLOTHES

North Face convertable pants (on person)
3 Wool socks (1 hike, 1 camp, 1extra)
2 Capeline base layers (hike/camp)
2 bandana
Bruins Tshirt (in pack)
Fleece top
2 pairs of compression underwear
Marmot Zeus
Trail runners
fleece hat

will prob add my AUBURN Football Sweatshirt. cuz i want to.

deff forgeting something!! What pack/sizes should i lean toward? dont mind spending the cash!

Luddite
01-17-2011, 14:41
Catalyst to big for my list? Circuit better?

I don't how small the Lunar Solo packs down, but I think the Catalyst will probably be too big. You could always E-Mail ULA your list and they could point you in the right direction.

skinewmexico
01-17-2011, 15:31