PDA

View Full Version : Total rookie questions, Vol 4

Dainon
12-29-2004, 09:37
I have nearly all of my gear purchased -- the last to be ordered will be a set of FroggToggs and a few miscellaneous items. I opted for a Shires Tarptent (Squall), the Osprey Aether 60, and a Western Mountaineering 20-degree ultralight. While I can see advantages and disadvantages with each, that said I think that my decisions were reasonable and I thank everyone who offered their thoughts and opinions.

I'm ready to do a couple of 2-3 day shake-down hikes, but before I do, I'd like to ask some questions that will, for experienced hikers, most probably seem to have obvious answers. I'm a rookie, so apologies in advance.

1. My tarptent came rolled up in a stuff sack. The sack is approx. 24" in length. When packing the tarp in the backpack, should it be folded into something of a square or rectangle so that it will be somewhat flat? Should it be strapped to the outside of the pack?

2. Related to Question #1, what about the pole? Is it generally kept inside the pack or attached to the outside? On the one hand, I'd think that having the pole inside the pack risks it being bent or perhaps puncturing something; on the other hand, trying to attach it to the outside seems to increase the risk of it falling off while hiking and thus lost. Would it be better to carry the tarp and the pole in the stuff sack provided and attach the entire thing to the outside of the pack?

3. When I hauled the gear that I have to the outfitters to try different packs, I noticed that the clothes seemed to take up excess volume. Does it make sense to get a small compression sack for them? (other than what I'll wear on the first day, I'm taking an extra set of pants, shirt, two pair of socks, and raingear). One possible benefit of using a stuff sack for them is that it could double as a pillow.